16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  How did you learn to shoot
jschultz
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:56 am  Reply with quote

I have been hunting since I was 12 years old and until my 30's I mostly shot ducks and geese over decoys. When in my late 30’s I was invited to a gun club that had skeet and trap ranges. I shot a round of skeet and if memory serves me right, I don’t think that I hit much over 11 or 12 targets. Hmmph and me a great duck shot!
The state trap and skeet champion befriended me and taught me to shoot targets other than those stationary ones over the top of decoys. After years of his friendship he told me that I will never be a great skeet shot but I am a fair wing shot. Coming from him, a great compliment. A shot story: We were in Scotland shooting Red Grouse and a young Spaniard was in our rough shooting party. This guy would run to the dogs on point and out shoot whomever was closest. He wound up next to me and for several points, I did not get any shooting. He was quick and as soon as the gun hit his shoulder it would fire. In steps my friend and shot the next few birds from the hip. The Spaniard moved to the end of the line. How did you learn to shoot?
Doggai
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:04 am  Reply with quote

In May 1948 a Corporal handed me an M-1 and said "learn to love and care for this piece, it may save your life some day". I weighed 137 lbs, the M-1 weighed close to 8 lbs (?). Now, I weigh 210 and my bird guns all weigh around 6 lbs. A coon-ass in Louisiana taught me how to shoot flying targets. In Minnesota a friend refined my shooting at the skeet field. Upland birds are still my first love, trapshooting is 2nd. In 2009 I shot at more than 12,000 clay targets with a 11.5 lb trapgun. JF

Last edited by Doggai on Mon Apr 16, 2012 10:12 am; edited 1 time in total

Browning Double Auto Twelvette
Browning Double Auto Twentyweight
Remington 1100 12 2 barrels
Charles Daly SxS 28
Two Pipe Shoot