16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Here we go....
wingshooter
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 11:24 am  Reply with quote

Pulled a recipe from the 16 ga reloading group cd, and I think I have all the components. I have the MEC 9000G (it's actually been sitting for almost a year Embarassed ), and I think I'm ready to take the plunge. Here's the recipe and the question:

Rem Black Hull 2 ¾” 6 pt.7/8 oz.Unique16.0Win 209Rem SP-1611928066Armbrust Pressure/Velocity Tests 8-7-04

What, in your experience, would be the bushing # to throw 16 (grams?) of Unique? I have a #23: I carefully filled it with powder and then weighed it on my new powder scale (yes, I calibrated it). The scale read 2.13- (grams I think)! Does this mean I need a bushing about 7 or 8 times the volume? I am brand new to reloading, and want to be safe and do it right. Also with this wad, I believe I will need a filler. Larry I think uses puffed wheat or something akin. Would cocoa puffs produce a better dust cloud on late season clays? Wink

Any help for the newbie would be appreciated.

PS- Part of my question might be answered by the difference between grains and grams, but I don't mind showing my ignorance and willingness to learn

Mike

Manufrance Ideal 314:
Barrel set 1- (choke) .000 , .007 , chamber 70mm
Barrel set 2- .025 , .047 , 65mm
Barrel set 3- .005, .015
Manufrance Ideal No. 5:
Choke: .000, .010, 70mm chambers
pudelpointer
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 11:37 am  Reply with quote

Check your bushing chart supplied with your loader. It will tell you which bushing to use for 16 grains of powder. They are usually on the light side. Please don't put 16 bushings full of powder in that shotshell.You will need filler for that load.
wingshooter
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 11:50 am  Reply with quote