16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Guns  ~  browning std Auto-5 16
stevezz
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 1:21 pm  Reply with quote

Hello all, first post here. I'm relatively new to the 16 as I just picked up a Stevens 5100 about a month ago and got completly hooked! just ordered a mec 600jr to go along with my 12 ga press. I've always wanted a classic auto-5 but just never got around to it... Well NOW is the time. I'm in the process of buying a standard weight 1938 mfg in 16. I love the idea of the sweet 16 but for what the gun will be used for the standard will suite me just fine. My question is what do these guns weigh? I know it will be a little different depending on barrel, and rib vs no rib... but what do your guns actually weigh? I'd be interested in standard and also sweet 16 owners, along with light 12s vs standard. FYI mine is a standard 16 28" barrel with a solid rib and poly choke.
Dave In AZ
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 2:41 pm  Reply with quote

Welcome! Good first post, exactly what I was wondering myself today: what ARE all these Auto 5 differences?
Interested in reading the replies! Also, what's the difference between a "sweet sixteen" and a 16ga Auto-5? I thought it was the same thing.
skeettx
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 3:35 pm  Reply with quote

Hello stevezz

Welcome to the site

Mike

my oldie

Last edited by skeettx on Thu Mar 08, 2018 6:40 pm; edited 1 time in total

stevezz
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 5:23 pm  Reply with quote

Dave,

From what I can tell, different years of manufacture have cosmetic differences between the Sweet 16 and standard 16. The main things I can see is, first, the receiver has more metal removed during the machining process on the inside of the receiver sides which can be see by depressing the loading gate. Second, the barrel collar that slides over the mag tube has 3 holes drilled in it. Third and finally, the stock has been slightly hollowed just under the buttpad.