16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Reloading the black Remington hull
mike campbell
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 8:54 pm  Reply with quote

Rolling Eyes

Last edited by mike campbell on Fri Jul 26, 2019 4:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
Dave Erickson
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:28 pm  Reply with quote

Nice write up Mike. I agree with most of it but I've got to call you on one comment. Have you ever tried the SG20L wad?

Here is a picture of some 7/8 oz loads using the SG20L and International Clays. No filler is used in this load. Velocity is 1200 fps @ 9000psi. I've been shooting it for three years without a single blooper. This load is in the 16 gauge group spread sheet.

I can live with these crimps. It sure is nice not to mess around with fillers! Smile
hoashooter
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:37 pm  Reply with quote

Mike join the 16 ga. society and your troubles will be cured Wink I load the same hull with a 3/4 oz that will function my autos but I use a filler--don't really pay it no mind whether hunting or trying to bust a skeet target Wink Kinda like a small ticker tape parade at every shot Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Especially the older 8pt crimps what have a little extra space inside
mike campbell
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 10:03 pm  Reply with quote

Rolling Eyes

Last edited by mike campbell on Fri Jul 26, 2019 4:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Dave Erickson
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2006 11:51 pm  Reply with quote

mike campbell wrote:
Dave;

I'm really intrigued.

Yes, I have 2,000 of the SG20L's and I'll evntually use them up in 20ga loads I guess. Those shells look almost a little too full. I don't get it.

Why do you use this load? I like the specs, but I don't consider 9,000psi to be "low." That pressure level coming from a relatively fast powder (faster than UniClays and Unique) is the kind of combo I look for.