16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  first time out for quail in a couple of weeks...
16'er
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 6:00 pm  Reply with quote

Ok I've been shooting clays for four years now, and I've decided to get out and see what real birds are like. I'd like to carry my 16ga citori 525, of course for this hunt. Ive shot sereral rounds of clays with it, and it has fast become my Fav.

I'll be setting up a guided hunt with a local preserve. We'll be going after farm raised quail over dogs. I would like to go with a nickle plated load if possible. I might be mistaken, but have some resevations about roasting game with un-plated lead in it. The only nickle plated factory load I can find is the Fiocchi 7.5 golden phesant. My question is is this high velocity load with 1 1/8 payload too much for these birds. Don't want to be ripping them apart, of course.

My other option is to go with a standard velocity lead #8 like the remington or winchester game loads. Or I could carry my Browning Gold 20ga and get the fiocchi 20ga 1 0z load in a small shot size. (I think I'm a better shot with the sixteen, but the gun wieghts are very close.)

Also what are the general recommendations for chokes, Sk/IC or IC/MOD? If I use a more open choke then will I avoid destroying birds with the fiocchi golden phesant 16ga 7.5 load? I realize that the guide will probably give me a good idea what kind of range we can expect, but I want to have a good set up to "go to" when I'm there...

I'm hoping to get to reloading very soon, and solve some of these problems with load availiblity, but I dont think I'll have any equipment or supplies by the time I get out to hunt, Then there's the time to sit down and tinker, and test shells before hand.... not likely at this point.

any help would be appreciated..

16'er
revdocdrew
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 6:22 pm  Reply with quote