16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  RST ammo?
Chukar60
PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:53 am  Reply with quote

I am pretty new to this bunch so if my post here is old hat for the regulars please humor me.

I have recently returned to a 16 with 40+ years separating the 16 I learned to hunt with and my latest purchase.
I recently bought a Sauer and Sohn/Geco 16 that was made in 1929.
When I bought it I knew I had a built in supply of ammo sitting at the ranch. These are all shells left by guests who did not want to fly them home.
I finally got a chance to shoot the gun while at the ranch this weekend. Took it out to shoot some of the ECD’s (Euarasian Collared Dove) that seem everywhere out there.
First walk I took some RIO 2 3/4” 1 1/8 oz #7.5 high brass loads. Recoil was not too bad, but not what I would want for a day of shooting doves.
Came back to the house and found 7 boxes of RST 2.5” 7/8 oz, #6 shells. Man what a difference!! Seems the shells were made for this gun. Doves dropped clean and the gun was an absolute pleasure to shoot.
I am considering a case of 2.5” #7 for quail this season.
Was wondering what everybody thought about the RST shells. They are a little spendy, but I can get #7 shot and appreciate the lower recoil.
Also wanted to thank those here who told me to buy the Geco and those who advised me on getting accustomed to the double triggers. After a short time on the gun I believe I will come to favor the double triggers over a single. Barrel selection is much easier than the SST on my 20 ga Superposed.
Upland Carpenter
PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:10 am  Reply with quote

Doubtful you'll find anyone speaking ill of RST. You can't go wrong shooting it. Quality ammo and manufactured in my home state.

''Common Sense isn't common" -Lefty Kreh
CitoriFeather16
PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:25 am  Reply with quote

+1 on RST. I reload but use them in my OLD English doubles for hunting.

Matt
Tedthesurveyor