16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  beginner question.
case 1775
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 4:39 pm  Reply with quote

hey guys, I am completely new to reloading of any kind, and would like to work up a load using the components that I have. the only wads that I have are 1 1/8 oz rem. that I bought at the cabelas in hamburg yesterday. my question is, how much green dot should I use to achieve 1200 fps? green dot is also the only powder that I have. any help will be greatly appreciated.

MSM2019
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 4:44 pm  Reply with quote

Green Dot and Remington SP16 wads are a bad combo if you are planning on loading 1 1/8 oz. loads in a 16.

You might want to give a bit more information, like, what loads are you actually trying to reload.

Probably should know that you can’t ‘work up’ loads when it comes to shotguns, like you can with a centerfire rifle.

Before you buy any more components, do yourself a favor and buy a Lyman’s 5th Edition Shotshell Reloading Manual.

You can use the powder and the wads that you have for a 16 gauge, but for the most part not together.

While my post may seem a bit harsh, I am trying to save you money and frustration.

You have to figure out what load it is that you want and then buy components for that specific load. But first you need to understand the components and where the loading data comes from.

The Lyman Manual will help you with the basics and the folks here can help you with specific loads and where to find the best data.

skeettx
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 4:59 pm  Reply with quote

Great question, this should work

http://www.alliantpowder.com/reloaders/RecipePrint.aspx?shotype=&weight=1.125&weightdis=1+1%2f8&shellid=526&gtypeid=3&gauge=16&lid=1880

Last edited by skeettx on Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:01 pm; edited 1 time in total

case 1775
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:00 pm  Reply with quote