16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  Vintage 16ga Ithaca
upnorth
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2019 12:30 pm  Reply with quote

Hello, I'm new to 16ga forum, because guess what? I just bought an antique 16ga Ithaka Flues SxS. And I have a couple of questions. By the serial number I gather that the gun was manufactured in 1917. In 1917 shot shells were paper with a fiber wad. I plan to hand load lead and ITX for dove, teal and grouse. Do I need to load paper with a fiber wad or can I load modern plastic hulls with a plastic gas seal like the z16 from BP. The barrels are choked full and modified. BP has a number of recipes for lead and ITX that include chamber pressure. I understand chamber pressure is an issue, so what would a reasonable chamber pressure be? Or what pressure should I stay below. I see there's a low pressure forum as a sub group of this page so this post and my questions may be better placed there, but I thought i'd start here in the more general setting.
skeettx
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2019 1:42 pm  Reply with quote

Hello upnorth,

Welcome on your first postings Smile

Yes, the Flues is a fine old gun, but does not respond well to warm loads.

I would suppose the chambers are shorter the 2 3/4"

I would stay under 7,500 psi if it were my gun.

I have a Flues in 20 gauge and treat it the same way.
The chambers are 2 1/2 inch.

Plastic stuff is fine, but you will most likely find it choked full and fuller with the
use of the newer shotshell components, and you might wish to load spreader loads.

Again, welcome

Mike

upnorth
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2019 2:18 pm  Reply with quote

I measured the chamber, well the gun smith measured the chamber, and it's 2.75.

BPI doesn't have any loads under 8,000psi, so I'll be looking for that CD from the low pressure group
upnorth
PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2019 2:22 pm  Reply with quote