16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  State of the Industry
Scolari
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:13 am  Reply with quote

I was just wondering since we are about to start 2007, what the state of the gun industry is. In the US, that is. You know, sort of like the State of the Union. I see a lot of gun makers out there and was just wondering how many of them are still healthy companies.I see a lot of fine old American companies importing more guns than ever. I was wondering if there is enough demand to keep all of them solvent. Some of you shooting sports writers might know and share some rumors with me. I just can't believe there is enough demand to keep them all going.
Foursquare
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 9:47 am  Reply with quote

I have no insider knowledge, but some things I've taken note of recently:

S+W seems to be going gangbusters, based on capital spending (building a shotgun plant in Turkey and acquisition of T/C).

Ruger remains in a strong position as the largest American gunmaker, despite sales at roughly 1/2 the level of 12 yrs ago. This is not a unique predicament in today's US gun industry. Those that are flexible, adaptable and innovative will continue to do well.
The stock price has gained 50% since Bill Jr retired earlier this year.
Now if they'd just get the G.L. line up and running again... Rolling Eyes

Remington's tooling for the 700 rifle line was pretty well worn out by '02. They decided not to replace it with predictable results. I wouldn't own a 700 made in the last 4 yrs, and the word is getting around. Most of Rem's management decisions in the last 10 yrs have bordered on the bizzare/surreal.

Winchester/USRAC's demise has been well hashed out this year. An object lesson in long distance ownership.