16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Guns  ~  Recoil Pad Recommendation
kjack
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2021 5:02 am  Reply with quote

https://imgur.com/a/KiqUtAF

My M12 16ga, full opened to IM, has an older pad that is starting to stiffen up. Ballistol seems to help. After this season, I will be visiting my gunsmith for a replacement.

I have no experience with Kick-Eze but I read a bit knocking overall durability. I’m leaning towards a classic Winchester red pad (or clone)

Recoil is not an issue but stock length/fit is. I like a slightly longer stock and the add-on leather seems to work well. The red pad will definitely be thinner but I do not want to add a wood extension so grandson can have something to start with (and he is left-handed like me so my replacement safety will be useful for him).

Suggestions?

16'er
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2021 6:33 am  Reply with quote

From a pure fit to shoulder standpoint, the kick-eze Rocker pad is my favorite. It just sits in the shoulder pocket repeatedly to the right place for me.

On a classic gun, I’d lean toward a solid red rubber pad, though. One could contour a solid rubber pad to a very similar profile if desired.
win7stw
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2021 6:49 am  Reply with quote

16'er wrote:
On a classic gun, I’d lean toward a solid red rubber pad, though. One could contour a solid rubber pad to a very similar profile if desired.

Couldn't agree more

Swampy16
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2021 7:46 am  Reply with quote

Make sure you take weight into consideration. Some pads can drastically throw off the balance of a gun and add quite a bit of weight.
Old colonel2
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2021 1:56 am  Reply with quote

Should a lightweight pad be desired I have found Cervellati pads to be excellent.

https://www.qldgunexchange.com/products/cervellati-microcell-leather-effect-recoil-pad-15mm-thick-80mm-hole-space-black

https://www.hastingsdistribution.com/index.php?l=product_list&c=49
kjack