16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  MEC 650 Conversion - need baseplate
Citori16
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2022 5:26 am  Reply with quote

So I picked up a MEC 650 12 ga (as well as a single stage 12 ga & a 20 ga older progressive) thinking I could convert it to 16 ga, but alas, the baseplate would have to be changed to even think about it.

I know this is probably a Longshot (pun intended) but does anybody have a 16 ga baseplate they are willing to part with? Perhaps in the hoarders closet for a project that never will be completed?

I do not intend to load 12 ga for target, I have a steelmaster which I will eventually use once my supply of goose loads dwindles, plus the other single stage 12 ga which I have not figured out what to do with yet.

Otherwise I will just sell it, I would offer it here first, then ebay or similar.

skeettx
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2022 7:39 am  Reply with quote

Part 59 A is available from MEC

https://www.mecoutdoors.com/mec-650n-parts

That is what you want? Right?

MIke

MaximumSmoke
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2022 10:19 am  Reply with quote

OK Citori 16, -- I've made that conversion before. Get some #12 solid copper wire -- about a foot of it. Strip off the insulation and very carefully form it into a circle that just fits inside the rim recess of that 12 gauge base. Use some MEK or alcohol to carefully clean and dry the rim recess. Mix up some J-B Weld and put a small, neat bead of that into that rim recess. Use a screwdriver to trowel the J-B Weld into place. Take your time and make it smooth and not excessive. Then set that copper wire into the rim recess and and make sure it is pressed down well. Carefully scrape off excess J-B Weld . . . . and Bob's your uncle! Saves buying a quite costly part from MEC.
MSM2019
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2022 10:22 am  Reply with quote