16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Guns  ~  Sxs or O/U?
mrosspa
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 5:44 pm  Reply with quote

What to buy next?

Let me explain my question. I've a 16G semi auto that I use for SITTING in a duck blind, now I want a gun for upland game.

Remember, I'm not a rich man.

I grew up in a time where the sxs didn't have screw in chokes, and a OU was owned by a rich man with no children. Since I've no experience with an OU, so I tend to be partial to sxs but willing to consider a different style. I was told that if one shoots trap and skeet an OU is more accurate. What is your experience?

Can you recommend 16G SXS or OU that I can shoot steel out of if needed, won't be too heavy to carry in the field, and are reliable?

Are screw in chokes that useful for upland game or would it be better to buy extra barrels?

Do you find a SXS or OU is more comfortable to carry in the field?

I only shoot clays as a method of honing my skills for field work.

I'm used to double triggers. How reliable do you find the single triggers to be?

Thanks,

hunshatt
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 6:21 pm  Reply with quote

Keep the semi for ducks. Far as what caries better, I'm down to 1 o/u in 20ga a beretta bl-5 that my g-friend has taken over. It carries great. The 1/2 doz 16 sxs all carry good also. You can pick up any number of great sxs in the 500-2k range(yea I know it's a big spread) new or used. Dehann's , CZ's(new) theh used list goes on and on. Contenintal is possibly the best value, but it might be g=belguim guns.
Far as steel, better off with bismiuth for th older stuff

3DocPop
PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 6:25 pm  Reply with quote

I am sure that other, more knowledgeable shooters will weigh in on this, but here is what I think I know:

OU more accurate? Probably not more, or for that matter less accurate than SxS, but certainly more comfortable for shooting many rounds because of the greater weight.