16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  new to reloading 16
rgrigutis
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 11:58 am  Reply with quote

hi guys
i've been reloading 12,28, and .410 for a couple years. got a couple 16's and well, i've discovered i'd better start reloading for 16 too. i got some multihulls and sg16 wads from bpi. they sent a load data chart and there's a column for filler wad/overshot. i've never used a filler wad/overshot, never heard of one before. bpi told me not to worry about it. it's just to help the crimp. what have you guys experienced w/ using filler wad or without?

i plan to load the multihulls w/16.5 gr of promo [actual recipe calls for red dot 16.5 gr], the sg16 wad, and no filler wad, 1 oz. lead. the data sheet says 1240fps and 10,400 psi. is this safe to shoot in an old a5, not sweet 16 but regular?

obviously i'm just getting started w/ the 16. does the data group offer any how/to w/ their data and if not can anyone point me to a reference for reloading 16. i'm reading here and picking up quite a bit. an organized format explaining the whys/how-to's would be a boon.

thanx, rick
britgun
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 3:32 pm  Reply with quote

Hi Rick,