16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  1 1/8 oz "hi-brass"?
chaplainkramer
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 11:03 am  Reply with quote

Does anyone shoot the 16 ga. Remington (called "Express" I think) or Winchester factory "hi-brass" 1 1/8 oz shells--in 4, 6, or 7 1/2?. I've heard a lot about the Remington 1 oz "game loads" on this forum, but nothing about these others.

Thanks.
Dave Miles
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:01 pm  Reply with quote

What do you want to know. They kick like a mule in a 6 lb. SxS. Wink

chaplainkramer
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:26 pm  Reply with quote

Just wondering about quality, application--e.g., when do you guys tend to shoot these (or other 1 1/8 oz) instead of 1 oz (my assumption is pheasant or other upland situations, not ducks)--and comparison to other maker's 1 1/8 oz loads. I'm new to the world of 16 ga, so I'm just trying to learn about ballistics and such.

Thanks.
revdocdrew
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:54 pm  Reply with quote

Excellent pheasant loads all, as is the Federal Game Shok Hi-Brass 1 1/8 oz. 3 1/4 dram (1290 fps) BUT I'd limit their use to a modern OU like the Citori, or the soon to arrive 16g BPS. Certainly not sweet Elsie loads, and possibly 'more than enough gun' for preserve pheasants. Great choices for big wild KS and S. Dakota birds, as are the B&P F2 Classics. Here's a recent thread about the Fiocchi GPs http://bbs.shootingsportsman.com/viewtopic.php?t=35300

Ron Overberg
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 2:34 pm  Reply with quote