16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Guns  ~  Shot my first 16 gauge yesterday
Eric Cioe
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:10 pm  Reply with quote

Hey guys,

I'm new to birdhunting and shotgunning, but always grew up around it. So this year, for my 20th birthday, I went out and bought an old Fulton SxS in 16 gauge. My dad used SxS's exclusively until I bought him a pump for his 50th earlier this year, so that's where I got the SxS bug from. The 16 gauge bug came from my mother's side of the family, where my grandfather hunting with only a Model 12 in 16 gauge (which he inherited from his father-in-law, after he killed himself with it).

Anyway, I paid $270, and it's in pretty decent shape. The bores are very clean, and the action is quite tight. The blue is really nice ont he gun. The only thing that needs attention is the stock, where the threads seem to be a bit loose. Still, I think it's a great deal.

It's a pretty light gun, though I haven't weighed it, with a Prince of Wales stock and a small splinter foreend. I'm really happy with it, though the stock worries me some.

I shot decently yesterday considering that this is the first time I've gone shooting after I caught the shotgun bug last fall (I go to school in Chicago, so I can't shoot there).

This message is very scatterbrained, but I'm quite satisfied with my new gun, and look forward to dusting more clays this summer and following the new birddog in the woods of Michigan in the fall with my pop.

brdetr
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:38 pm  Reply with quote

Congratulations on a fine new purchase. I am sure you will fall in love with the 16 gauge too. Check out Seaway Gun Club in Muskegon. It is a great place to shoot. It has trap, skeet, 5 stand and sporting clays. I am usually out there on Wednesday nights. Maybe I will see you out there. Oh, and save some of the birds in the woods for me. Very Happy

Brian Erickson

Foursquare
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 6:01 am  Reply with quote