16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  Of Primers and Broken Firing Pins
rpm
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 3:47 pm  Reply with quote

I've been reloading 16ga now for a couple of years, not because I'm a high-volume shooter but because I like to control the loads I shoot. Anyhow, after last year's season-ending hunt I was cleaning my Citori when I noticed the lower firing pin was badly chipped and rusting, so I ordered a replacement from Browning and swapped it out. This happened in January.

Today a buddy and I paid for some birds as a preseason warm up to shake off the rust from both ourselves and the dogs. I'd been checking the primer dimples for holes when I removed them the gun and noticed one had been pierced. There looked to be a big chip in the lower pin but I wiped it off and it turned out to be a small piece of metal though it did reveal a smaller chip in the new pin. All eleven other shells seemed fine and I don't know which was fired from the top or bottom although at least seven were singles from the lower barrel. Of course I've read plenty about lower firing pins in Citoris and their proclivity for damage due to the extreme angle.

I've owned said Citori since before I began reloading - at least five years - and I also own a 12ga Citori and Superposed. When not collecting cobwebs, the 12ga guns see only factory loads as the 16ga used to with never a broken or chipped lower firing pin. Are my primers too hard or could it be something else with the gun that is off kilter? I bought 1000 pre-primed shells from Ballistic Products and I've got about 250 remaining.

Needles to say, I'd rather not continue to replace firing pins. Any insight you guys could provide would be appreciated.
Grousen
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 12:27 am  Reply with quote