16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Sales of 16 Gauge Shells
gold40
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:14 am  Reply with quote

Other recent threads have addressed the relative popularity of the 16 gauge (or lack therof). Clearly there is at least some current resurgence. That kind of raises a related question:

Are more factory 16 gauge shotshells sold today than in the past? Or was the peak sales year back in the 1940's or 1950's?

Perhaps we have a board member that works in the shotshell industry that could provide a quantitative answer.

JERRY
Baden Powell
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:11 am  Reply with quote

Jerry, I'm no expert. My guess is that thanks to Web sites like this one, there may be a small uptick in total 16-gauge sales rather than a continued incremental decline. Just judging by commercial shell availability in my area, things have gotten worse, not better here in spite of guns like the Remington Express and the BPS. I'd love to hear otherwise!
hoashooter
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 11:11 am  Reply with quote

There is certantly a wider selection of shot sizes and types of shot now but many places overlook the 16 and keep a limited inventory or none at all Evil or Very Mad
clayflingythingy
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 4:09 am  Reply with quote

I think those who are enthusiastic about the 16 misjudge the popularity of the gage. I can walk into my local Wal Mart or LGS and buy 28 gage and 410 bore shells. I can't always find 16s.
Twice Barrel
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:23 am  Reply with quote

Quote:
I think those who are enthusiastic about the 16 misjudge the popularity of the gage. I can walk into my local Wal Mart or LGS and buy 28 gage and 410 bore shells. I can't always find 16s.