16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  Ruffed Grouse hunting Tips
steve mealman
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 5:48 am  Reply with quote

Guy's
I don't want anybody to give away their best-kept secrets, but I was wondering if I could get some late season grouse hunting tips from you guys.

I used to hunt grouse a lot in Bemidji Minnesota where I went to college, but all I did was walk-logging roads, and really didn't look at any specific habitat.

I am going to be hunting around Two Harbors, MN, in early December. I was wondering if there is some certain habitat I should concentrate on, should I just walk through the woods and avoid logging roads?

I would just like some general help on hunting these guys in early December.

Thanks
Steve Mealman
Mod 97
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:08 am  Reply with quote

Can I jump on here, too?

How does snow cover affect grouse hunting?

I'm fairly new to the game, but I would look for aspen/balsam mix. Also, anywhere a conifer stand meets aspen or hardwoods. Think upland/lowland transition. I think late in the year they start looking at aspen buds for food, so look at more mature stands. BUT, the key is: adapt - if they aren't in one cover type, try another!

I'm not a fan of walking trails/roads. I just beat the brush. Got a dog? Following the dog is the best bet. Only the nose knows for sure.

Good luck!

NR

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:33 am  Reply with quote