16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  Introduction to me and my Model 12
EddieF
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:46 am  Reply with quote

Hi. A friend just let me know about this site because I just bought a Model 12 in 16 gauge. Great site!

I'm not a big shooter, kind of getting back into it as I shot skeet as a kid and hunted with my Dad (dove, mostly), then took about thirty years off after he died. His favorite shotgun was the Model 12, and after some searching I finally decided on and purchased this one.

I shot it for the first time this past weekend and LOVE it!! I've never fired a 16 ga. before, but this is a great size. Light gun, looks beautiful, functions flawlessly. I am quite rusty but a few rounds of wobble trap got my juices flowing again and I can't wait to go back out.

Can someone recommend products to get/keep this gun looking great? Most of my guns are stainless handguns, I have little experience with blued guns and want to preserve the remaining blueing on this as much as possible. Also, what kind of oil is best for the wood, and can I use a product like simple green to clean the bolt and other areas that have some accumulated grime?

Thanks in advance.
Hal M. Hare
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 7:43 am  Reply with quote

Welcome to this website, Eddie. You have a nice, crisp looking M-12. I have one as well from the early 60's with a Simmons rib and cutts. I do shoot a lot of clays with mine as well.

I have found that by loading the black Remington cases, I can get a laod that works well on clays. Hard to find factory stuff at a reasonable price.

Good luck.

PS-I usually just wipe mine down after shooting with a gun rag.

EddieF
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 7:50 am  Reply with quote

Thanks Hal. I forgot to mention mine is from 1952.
revdocdrew
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 8:34 am  Reply with quote

Welcome Eddie. For clean up suggestions (but your's looks very nice!) see http://www.lcsmith.org/faq/cleangun2.html

chorizo