16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Reloading equipment
old dog
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:53 pm  Reply with quote

I am new to the shotgun reloading and would like some guidance. I have reloaded for NRA high power rifle matches for years but need some help on getting my reloading equipment for shotshells. I would like informatiion on what press, extra tools, books, componets that our memebers have used and like. I have always liked the 16ga and recently puchased a Citori 16ga that i like very much but would like to load for myself. It may be a bit bullheaded but i always think i can do better than factory loads. Question
dunk
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 1:28 pm  Reply with quote

It is hard not to offer up MEC as the loader of choice...but it is not my first choice.

I own MEC's...I have no issues with them. My 9000G spits out simple 12 ga. target loads by the hundreds and does so PDQ.

Having said that my unit of choice for my hunting loads is from P&W. These units offer 'fine adjustments' that leave factory quality shells that really cannot be duplicated with a MEC.

With my 375 Duo-Matic I have three different heads. One head is 2 3/4" and 3" 12 gauge, the next is 2 3/4 and 3" 20 ga. and the last is 28 ga and 16 ga. As all the adjustments for each shell type is done at the tool head, you can swap out between 3" 12 magnums to 2 3/4" 16 ga loads in less than two minutes with NO...ZERO adjustments and start loading.

Of course...the P&W is much more expensive. I feel it's worth it. But that, as they say, is just MHO.

If your only looking to load 10 or so boxes of shells for hunting each year...it might be hard to justify the P&W when the MEC would do darn near as good for much less $$.