16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  resizing brass
salter16
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 7:21 pm  Reply with quote

I'm new to reloading and have a MEC 600 Jr. for reloading 16's.

My reloader is new out of the box, and I'm reloading the black RGL shells.

In the first stage the resizer really seems to be taking a lot of brass off the shells...basically flaking all of the gold color off of the brass.

Should I lube the resizer or does this sound normal?

If I need to lube, what should I use?

Just joined the low pressure group. Lot's of great info.

Thanks!
MaximumSmoke
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 9:14 pm  Reply with quote

Cool

Last edited by MaximumSmoke on Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:09 pm; edited 1 time in total
thunderstick
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:03 am  Reply with quote

I use the same reloader as you and found that the reloaded shells would not fit into the chambers very readily Surprised . I bought the MEC re-sizing tool and re-size every shell with that after having removed the primer. It's an extra couple steps in the reloading process, but I like shells that will chamber ! Wink
salter16
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:37 am  Reply with quote

Thanks! I think I may invest in the MEC resizing tool.
Rrusse11
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:15 am  Reply with quote

Salter,
I'm a big fan of the MEC SuperSizer. I've got all the collets now for all the gauges, and it can be adjusted to do some innerestin' sizing operations. Tony has adjusted one to resize 24ga, I've used mine to put a taper crimp on rounds for autoloaders, WELL worthwhile if you plan on getting in to reloading.
Dig around on Ebay, they come up regularly, and the various collets are readily available.
Cheers,
R*2

http://cgi.ebay.com/SHOTGUN-SHELL-SUPERSIZER-MODEL-SS77_W0QQitemZ370126764608QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?_trksid=p3286.m20.l1116