16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Noob here again
geekonabeach
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:51 pm  Reply with quote

I'm a noob at the world of the gun. My dad was an avid hunter but never invited me along.
So, now I've suddenly inherited his old Model 12 16 ga and I have an old faithful Springfield 20ga.

I'm thinking of getting into reloading my own 16ga shells.
What all do I need to do so, in a cheap but well done way?

Thanks GOAB
putz463
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:45 am  Reply with quote

Welcome aboard GOAB, you've come to the right place, there is alot of talent hanging around this sight.

What are your intentions with shooting? Occasional hunting/clays? Or; thousands of target rounds? I ask this to get an idea of the volume of shells/speed of production you might need. This would dictate the equipment.

Again, welcome aboard, nothing like an handed down gun, Mike

jschultz
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 9:30 am  Reply with quote

GOAB,
Welcome, yes indeed there is a load of knowledge here, unfortunately,if you don’t have the right question or the necessary knowledge to under stand the terminology of reloading, things could get a bit confusing. I suggest that you obtain a copy of Lyman’ s Shot Shell Handbook, 5th addition. This book has the necessary knowledge to get you started and any questions that can’t be answered by reading the handbook will surely be answered here. Good luck.
geekonabeach
PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:25 pm  Reply with quote

putz463 wrote:
Welcome aboard GOAB, you've come to the right place, there is alot of talent hanging around this sight.

What are your intentions with shooting? Occasional hunting/clays? Or; thousands of target rounds? I ask this to get an idea of the volume of shells/speed of production you might need. This would dictate the equipment.

Again, welcome aboard, nothing like an handed down gun, Mike