16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Win SuperX CF or PF
GrouseHunter
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 9:35 am  Reply with quote

I am new to reloading and just starting to select components.

I have some black Remington Game Load hulls. They are a little too hot for me from the factory, but the price was right. I have a couple recipes for these.

I prefer Win Super X Game Loads. They shoot better in my gun for whatever reason. Maybe type of powder or different base wad? I don't know if these are called the compression formed or poly-formed. Can you tell by looking at a hull and what is the difference between CF and PF? I have some of these but they don't match the pictures I have. They are about 5 years old I think.

My goal is mostly to load light spreaders for close range grouse and woodcock. I plan to get the Polywad inserts and the XTREAM inserts. Maybe try some layered payload loads. I understand with the Polywad insert you just substitute it for 1/8oz shot. I don't see much information around about the use of the XTREAMS.

I have some recipes but it seems none of the components overlap. Any suggestions about what I should pick up to get started to get the most out of the hulls I have? I would really prefer to use the same powder in both but I don't know if this is possible looking at the recipes I have. I suppose I should study Lymans 5th edition and BPI 16g manual before I order any components?

Thanks for reading.
Twice Barrel
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 9:57 am  Reply with quote

Your Winchesters providing they have been manufactured since about 2000 are a Cheddite or Cheddite clone Reifenhauser (3 piece) hull. If you have a box you will see that they were made in Italy or Australia. For load data use data developed for the Cheddite hulls.