16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Which hulls to buy?
510wells
PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:25 pm  Reply with quote

Guys,

I recently started shooting 16 gauge and based on experience with 12 gauge Remington game loads was stocking up on them in 16 to shoot and then reload.

Well, I just got back from My first trap shoot (gotta be careful how you say that Very Happy ) and am rather underwhelmed by the look of the hulls. I'd guess I MIGHT get one maybe two more loads out of them, or less, as some of the hulls already split on the first firing Sad

So my question is which has the longest life for loading/reloading Cheddite or Fiocchi? Easiest to get decent/good crimps on the first load? Any other hulls you'd recommend? Or???

Thanks for your time.

Roi

jswanson
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:21 am  Reply with quote

I use cheddite and federal. The Rem do often split especially when cold. No Experience with reloading the Fio.

Joe

Hootch
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 7:11 am  Reply with quote

I like the cheddites. Seem to get a bit more use out of them then Fiocchi, but in most respects, they are pretty equal. And readily available. Both roll crimp easily, but the cheddite seems to "keep" its crimp better longer than the Fiocchi.

I am going to start using the Fed hulls too, thanks to this forum. Haven't loaded them previously, mainly due to lack of data.

I don't buy remington ammunition. (don't own a remington gun either)
Just my opinion of course, but their ammo just plain sucks. Only shot one box of 16ga Rems through my Citori, shooting rocks behind the house, had to go to wally world to buy shells, all they had were some Rems, two or three didn't even go off. Never liked Remington.

I usually buy Federal ammo, sometimes, Fiocchi Golden pheasant.
Winchester sparingly. Remington, never.

Kent loads are good also. I haven't shot the Rio ammo either.
Dave Miles
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:03 am  Reply with quote