16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Old A5 loads
wigeon jim
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 1:10 pm  Reply with quote

Hi all this is my first post on this great forum, i have been given an old bulgium made A5 16 gauge no.FN20029 with short chambers,with info seen on this site i had to change its setting and fit a washer in font of the barrel ring to keep the barrel in the right place,shot it yesterday at some pigeons with no problems,as i have been handloading 8,10,12,20 gauge hulls for a few years i am now looking for some 16 gauge loads for this gun,i have longshot,bluedot,steel powder but will get the powder you all think is best, i also have the vp80 multi metal wads as well as some 1oz wads, any info would be greatfully receved on any lead or steel loads if this gun would be ok with small steel, also does anyone how old this gun is,many thanks,
Jim.

bowbuilder
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 2:18 pm  Reply with quote

Hi Jim, welcome to the forum.

My first suggestion in to join the Low Pressure Group. It is a Yahoo based group that many of us here belong to. There is a wealth of reloading data there now, available in an excel file...including many 2.5" loads, which would work great for your gun.

Longshot is a very useful 16 ga powder, from fast 1 oz loads to 1 1/4 oz loads. There are a few loads for bluedot for 1 1/8 and 1 1/4oz loads...but I think they are all for 2 3/4 inch shells. There a very, very few loads for STEEL (the powder), and they are all 1 1/8 oz or heavier.

For 1 oz loads, my favorite powder is Universal.

Greendot and Unique are popular to.

Check the Low Pressure Group out first, then choose your powder from the data provided for whatever load you want.

Have Fun.
CitoriFeather16
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 5:49 pm  Reply with quote