16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Unburned Universal Clays?
Spike McQuail
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 6:21 am  Reply with quote

I use 19.5 grains Universal Clays, BPISPTG16 wad, 1oz lead shot and Winchester 209 primers in Federal Remington and Fiocchi hulls as a target load with good success, except that there seems to be an excess of unburned powder when I open my double gun. The round has a relatively soft recoil and low chamber pressure but I'm guessing that there is shell's worth (19-20 grains) of unburned powder in the barel and action of my gun after a round of skeet. Anyone have any theories or suggestions they want to share about how to lessen or completely avoid this issue or do I just have to live with it? I have used this round for a couple of years in my Remington model 11 and did not notice any significant unburned powder until I started shooting the O/U with extractors, but that could be because the model 11 flings the powder all over the place during ejection.
USAFA 71
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 6:34 am  Reply with quote

I use essentially the same load, in Fiocchi hulls. Yes, there is some unburned powder in the barrel when I am done, but it really isn't enough for me to worry about. I get the same results when using Universal in the 12 ga also.

When I get the new wads, I want to work up a 7/8 oz load using Clays powder, which is much cleaner burning. With luck someone else will work up the load and have it tested by the time I get my wads!
dogchaser37
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 7:07 am  Reply with quote

The issue is the pressure is too low , which creates a poor environment, (lack of heat and pressure), so the powder isn't completely consumed.

Universal burns as clean as Clays, when used in a proper load.
Spike McQuail
PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 7:29 am  Reply with quote

Dogchaser

Should I be looking for a load in a specific range of pressures that would reduce the amounts of unburned powder?
dogchaser37